CIR animation

We compare crypto platforms and may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more

Email Alerts
Stablecoin rewards

The GENIUS Act and Stablecoin Rewards: What the Rule Does, and Which Programs It Puts at Risk

The GENIUS Act bans stablecoin issuers from paying interest. It does not ban platforms from paying rewards — but it doesn't approve them either. The OCC's final rule (October 21, 2026) dropped the proposed presumption against third-party rewards, gave no safe harbor, and said each arrangement will be judged on its own facts, starting from the framework's effective date of January 18, 2027. This page explains what that means and tracks the rewards programs listed on Coin Interest Rate: who pays, how each is funded, and when one changes.

Disclosure: This guide may contain affiliate links. Affiliate terms do not impact our editorial reviews. Rates shown were checked on the dates noted and may have changed — verify current terms with the provider. Full disclaimer

The GENIUS Act restricts permitted payment-stablecoin issuers from paying interest or yield solely for holding, using or retaining a payment stablecoin. The third-party products below are separate from issuer-paid yield and have their own terms and risks.

Program status tracker

Live means the program is listed as running, with no announced change in response to the rule recorded here. It does not mean regulatory approval or availability in your country. Lending, liquidity provision and managed vault returns are separate from passive holding rewards. “Who pays” identifies the platform providing access; the funding column explains where the return comes from.

Stablecoin earn programs, payment structures, source links and dated status checks
PlatformProgramWho paysHow it’s fundedStatusLast checked
CoinbaseUSDC Rewards (Coinbase One)Official source

Publicly contested third-party rewards structure; the program continues. This label does not mean the OCC has announced a Coinbase-specific investigation.

PlatformCoinbase-funded loyalty program / USDC distribution economicsUnder reviewStatus context
CoinbaseUSDC Lending (Morpho)Official source

A separate lending product, distinct from holding rewards.

PlatformBorrower interest through Morpho lending marketsLive
LuneEarn PoolsOfficial sourcePlatformThird-party DeFi and institutional investment protocolsLive
CoinDepoEarn Interest Product (Compound Interest Accounts)Official sourcePlatformLending and investment of customer digital assetsLive
YouHodlerCrypto Yield AccountOfficial source

Full Reward Account Agreement is available in the application; funding could not be confirmed from the public guide.

PlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
NexoFlexible Savings / Fixed-term SavingsOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
CoinRabbitEarn Interest ProductOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
SolidUSD Yield (soUSD)Official sourcePlatformOnchain DeFi strategies powered by BoringVaultsLive
Figure MarketsDemocratized PrimeOfficial source

Figure operates the lending marketplace; borrowers fund the interest. This row covers lending, not an issuer-paid payment-stablecoin program.

PlatformInterest from borrowers in collateralized lending poolsLive
KrakenOpt-In RewardsOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
KrakVaultsOfficial source

Vault lending is distinct from rewards on an idle Krak balance.

PlatformFees paid by borrowers in onchain lending marketsLive
KASTKAST Earn — Gauntlet Alpha VaultOfficial source

Vault returns are distinct from passive platform holding rewards; deposits are deployed into DeFi strategies.

PlatformDeFi stablecoin strategies on BaseLive
PhemexFlexible SavingsOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
Crypto.comCrypto Earn / Earn PlusOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
AscendEXAscendEX EarnOfficial source

Seeded from CIR’s existing official-source check. The public product page blocked a fresh check; current eligibility and terms need reconfirmation.

PlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
EarnParkLiquidity ProvidingOfficial sourcePlatformMarket-making and liquidity-provision strategiesLive
CryptomusUSDT StakingOfficial source

Provider product name. USDT itself does not use proof-of-stake; the underlying funding mechanism is not established by the public page.

PlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
Ju.comJu.com Earn (Savings)Official source

The public Earn page is available; account-specific products and terms require sign-in.

PlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
Clapp FinanceFlexible Savings / Fixed SavingsOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
TuyoEarnOfficial sourcePlatformNot disclosed in the platform's termsLive
AxalUSD EarnOfficial sourcePlatformDeFi lending protocolsLive

We update a program's status when the platform announces a change or a regulator acts on it, and we date every change. A missing update is not a guarantee — always verify the current terms on the platform before depositing. Rates for every program are on our USDC and USDT pages, each stamped with the date it was checked.

How status labels work
Live
Program running, no announced change in response to the rule.
Under review
The program’s structure is the publicly contested case-by-case test case, or the platform has publicly acknowledged regulatory review. Used only with a public source; not a prediction.
Restructured
The platform changed the program’s rate, eligibility or terms after October 21, 2026. The row records what changed and when.
Ended
The platform has announced or implemented an end to the program. The row records the end date.

Frequently asked questions

How does the GENIUS Act affect stablecoin yields?

The GENIUS Act prohibits payment-stablecoin issuers from paying interest or yield solely for holding a stablecoin. The third-party earn products listed on Coin Interest Rate are separate from issuer-paid yield — they lend, stake, or run platform programs, each with its own terms and risks. Whether exchanges and apps can keep paying yield on stablecoin balances is still being contested (OCC final rule effective Jan 18, 2027; CLARITY Act negotiations ongoing). Always verify the current terms on the platform before depositing.

Are stablecoin rewards banned?

No. The ban applies to interest paid by the issuer of a payment stablecoin. Rewards paid by an exchange or app out of its own economics are a different structure. The OCC's final rule (October 21, 2026) neither banned those programs nor approved them: it dropped the proposed presumption against them, gave no safe harbor, and said each arrangement will be judged on its own facts — who pays, who funds the payment, and what behavior earns it.

What happens on January 18, 2027?

That is the GENIUS Act framework's effective date. Issuers must meet the reserve, redemption, licensing, and supervision requirements from that date. For rewards programs, nothing switches off automatically — January 18 is when the OCC's case-by-case approach starts applying in earnest, so program changes, if they come, will arrive one platform at a time rather than all at once.

Who is paying the yield on my stablecoins — and why does it matter now?

There are three structures, and the rule treats them differently. Issuer-paid interest (the stablecoin's issuer paying you to hold it) is banned. Platform-paid rewards (an exchange or app paying from its own revenue or distribution share) are the case-by-case category — legal today, not guaranteed tomorrow. Interest on a tokenized bank deposit is ordinary deposit interest at a chartered bank and sits outside the stablecoin rules entirely. Two offers showing the same APY can be in completely different legal positions, which is why the tracker above records who pays for every program we list.

Why are banks lobbying over rewards?

The Bank Policy Institute, representing large banks, has pressed the OCC to publish the reasoning behind its case-by-case rewards decisions, arguing that unpublished decisions leave everyone — banks and platforms alike — unable to plan. Banks are also concerned that rewards keep pulling deposits toward stablecoins; the OCC itself has said the effect on community-bank deposits is uncertain and being monitored. Until the OCC publishes decisions or further guidance, the first answers will come program by program.

Is the US the strictest regime?

No. Canada's draft stablecoin rules (published October 24, 2026, consultation open until December 23) would ban issuers from paying yield directly or indirectly — a stricter line than the US rule, which leaves third-party rewards open. Rules differ by country, and a program's legal position in the US says nothing about its position elsewhere.

Our coverage

Coin Interest Rate tracks stablecoin earn rates across more than 80 platforms. Rates live on our USDC and USDT pages and our stablecoin earn apps page, each row stamped with the date it was checked. When a rewards program restructures, reprices, or ends in response to this rule, the tracker above is where we record it.

Sources: OCC final rule, Bank Policy Institute, October 24, Canada’s proposed stablecoin regulations.

Important Considerations

Security Risks: Platform, counterparty and smart-contract failures can cause losses. Crypto earn products are not insured bank deposits; withdrawal limits and pauses may apply.

Rate Volatility: Returns can change or fall to zero. A status label does not guarantee future terms or legal eligibility.

Tax Implications: Rewards and other returns may create tax obligations depending on your jurisdiction.